Home > Inside - 8.5 > Inside – 8.5

Inside – 8.5


Director – Alexandre Bustillo, Julien Maury

Cast – Alysson Paradis, Beatrice Dalle, Francois-Regis Marchasson, Nathalie Roussel, Jean-Baptiste Tabourin

Release Year – 2007

Reviewed by John of the Dead

After viewing the epic French horror films “High Tension”, “Frontier(s)”, and “Martyrs”, I kept scolding myself for never finding the time to watch the one great French horror film I kept leaving out…”Inside”. Although I cannot honestly say that I enjoyed this film more than the one’s I just mentioned, there is one thing this film will make you do…NEVER FORGET IT!

The film follows a pregnant woman named Sarah who, while driving her and her husband somewhere, got into a deadly crash that nearly killed her, and unfortunately killed her husband. Fast forward four months later, it is Christmas eve and Sarah is at the hospital for her very last checkup and is scheduled to deliver her baby early the next morning. The checkup goes well and once she is at home getting ready to call it a night, her doorbell rings. There is a strange woman outside, and Sarah quickly tries to shoo her off. However the strange woman, whom Sarah has never met, knows a little too much about her, and is  not going to leave without Sarah’s unborn child…

This film is a violent, shocking ride that in the end will leave you astonished at what you just saw take place. Although films with a stranger trying to get inside a protagonist’s home have been done before, this is the first time I have seen one where the plot revolves around a pregnant woman, and another woman. I I am a really big fan of woman vs. woman action in horror films. No, I do not feel that way because of some lesbian sex romp fantasy, I feel that way because I find it a lot more shocking. Countless times we see a guy trying to kill some girl and blah blah blah. Although I enjoy a lot of those films, I just have a fascination with girl vs. girl action simply because of how unconventional it is, and how rarely we see it in films.

I felt that this film paced really well, and kept the suspense going without any drag whatsoever except for maybe the first 10 to 20 minutes of the film as we allow the plot to develop. After that, we face countless of suspenseful, and really gory scenes involving the two women, as well as other unsuspecting visitors Sarah, has coming over to make sure she is resting well before the delivery in the morning. If you want an interesting plot…then this is it! Although the overall plot is interesting, I felt that the best and most well known aspect about this film is simply the gore. I saw kills in this film that I have never previously seen in any other horror film, and I’m not quiet sure I will ever see any of these kills ever again in a horror film. Some of them are downright shocking, and will leave you squirming in your seat. The fact that a film about two women can be this gory and brutal really fascinates me, it is just something that we never see happen in other films. “Why?” do you ask? Most likely because no director, writer, or producer has the guts to make it happen. Haha!

As I mentioned in the previous paragraph, I really liked the plot of this film. However I really had a few problems with the story and execution of the story. For one, there were quite a few scenes that I felt lacked any type of realism, especially the scenes involving some police officers that are supposed to be monitoring the area. I know this is just a movie, and not a completely accurate representation of real life, but I do expect to see SOME sort of realism in the film. The police officers actions were really horrible, and did not represent normal police procedure. I had a problem with this because even people who are not police officers understand at least the basics in procedure and protocol. So this leaves me a bit angry knowing that at least one person on the set of this film was very well aware of this dilemma, and yet copped out and did nothing to fix it, which would have improved this film to some degree. Lastly, and this may not exactly be a complaint due to circumstance…but I really found the lead actress, the pregnant Sarah, to be very unlikable. Right from the start I felt no remorse for her whatsoever, mainly due to how she was treating people around her, especially those who cared for her. I understand she was close to labor, but you will see for yourself the severity of her actions, and I am sure you will agree with me. Now the reason I feel that may not exactly be a flaw in this film is because if you don’t like the lead character what will you normally do? Yes, that’s right, you will go for the bad guy, or should I say…”bad GIRL”! I am not sure if this was writer/director Alexandre Bustillo intention, but I found it to be quite interesting given that you would assume a film involving a good girl vs. bad girl will have you rooting for the good girl, well…maybe not in this case. Hehe.

Overall, this is an excellent film that should be viewed by all those who want to see a “no holds barred” battle royale in which a pregnant lady fights a weird, and pretty demented stranger, only to leave you gasping at the events that unfold during the last 15 minutes of the film.

Rating: 8.5/10

This film would have received an 9 rating had the “realism” issues been fixed. Either way…an 8.5 rating is awesome.

– I ranked this film #10 in my Top 50 Horror Movies of the Decade(1-10) post.

  1. December 27, 2009 at 1:36 am

    Hey! I am finally going to watch this movie online…. very good review…i’ll let you know if i like it or not. :p

  2. December 27, 2009 at 3:46 am

    wooow. pretty good movie, and yes a LOT of gore in this film.

    • December 27, 2009 at 8:15 pm

      heck yeah, such an awesome flick. look for it’s spot on my Top 50 Horror Film of the Decade post in a few days.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

