Home > The House on Sorority Row - 7 > The House on Sorority Row – 7

The House on Sorority Row – 7


Director – Mark Rosman

Cast – Kate McNeil, Eileen Davidson, Janis Ward, Robin Meloy, Harley Jane Kozak, Jodi Draigie, Ellen Dorsher, Lois Kelso Hunt, Christopher Lawrence, Michael Kuhn, Michael Sergio

Release Year – 1983

Reviewed by John of the Dead

This is a film I have been meaning to see for quite some while after surprisingly enjoying it’s 2009 remake, simply titled Sorority Row.  I have always been a fan of 80s slashers, so I went into this film expecting to like it, especially because it was remade and of course we all know Hollywood doesn’t remake crap, right?  Heh.  Nonetheless, I enjoyed this flick and although it did not come off to me as epic as I expected, it is still a great 80s slasher flick that is sure to please the fans of such films.

The House on Sorority Row follows a group of sorority sisters who play a mean prank on their “house mother” that goes horribly wrong.  It is the day of their big party celebrating their upcoming senior year, but they manage to find a place to hide the body, or so they think.  As nighttime falls the girls begin to fall victim to a vengeful killer, a killer bent on giving the girls what they deserve for their crime.

If you have an appreciation for these types of flicks then you should have no problem enjoying this one.  The storyline is one we have all heard/seen before, and it fails to never gain my interest.  I believe it is the vengeance element behind the killing, and you know vengeance always appeases me.  We had a few interesting elements thrown into this typical slasher storyline that did separate it from the “rest”, including its remake.  We get some interesting backstory that aided the film in creativity, but honestly it was nothing that overly interested me.  Personally, I prefer the devout slasher plot that the film’s remake had over this one.  Yes, I said it.

Mark Rosman’s direction in this film is positive, and I am glad he listened(or was forced to, who knows) to distributors who demanded more gore be thrown into the film.  We get some sweet kills that bleed that all-too-awesome cheezy slasher-esque gore that I always find very gratifying.  Our lead, Kate McNeil did a fine job as Katherine ‘Katy’ Rose while the other performances were a bit sub-par, but that is always expected with these films.  The twist at the end of the film was an interesting one, although I did expect it to come off a bit better than it did.  I can say that I really did not see it coming, but at the same time I was not overly shocked either which was a bit of a bummer.  I did however enjoy this film’s closing sequence, it was creepy, and very effective given it involved….a clown suit.  Yes, as long as a clown suit is involved…its creepy.

Overall, this is a cool slasher flick that I recommend to fans that enjoy the slasher films of the 80s.  We get some unique elements thrown into the plot that we never normally get in other slasher flicks, and the gore and execution make this a fun watch.

Rating: 7/10

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

