Home > 11/11/11/ - 2 > 11/11/11 – 2

11/11/11 – 2


Director – Keith Allan

Cast – Jon Briddell, Erin Coker, Hayden Byerly, Tracy Pulliam, Madonna Magee, David Bertolami, Rebecca Sigi

Release Year – 2011

Reviewed by John of the Dead

I will always be the first person to call myself a moron if I do something stupid, and for that I am a moron. Why? Well, have you heard of Darren Lynn Bousman’s 11-11-11? That is what I thought I was watching until the opening credits when I saw The Asylum as the film’s production company. At first I thought, “No wonder I’ve heard bad things about 11-11-11, Darren worked with The Asylum”, THEN after seeing how awfully atrocious this film was I checked the credits again and realized I was not watching Darren Lynn Bousman’s 11-11-11 but instead a piece o’ shyte ripoff typical of The Asylum’s films.

After moving to a new neighborhood Jack and Melissa notice strange changes in their son Nathan, changes that coincide with odd neighbors who believe he is the son of Satan and will bring forth the Apocalypse on his birthday, 11/11/11.

From the get-go we are thrown into this ridiculous and poorly-written story, which was decent during the first 10 minutes or so, but once the family’s neighbors began showing up on screen everything went downhill from there. Horrendous dialogue insults viewer intelligence throughout the film, and combined with a storyline that is one of the most uninteresting and uninspired I have ever seen you have a recipe for disaster as a screenwriter, and I virtually bitch-slap writers Keith Allan and Kiff Scholl for their cinematic atrocity. I really do not want to explain what happens in the film. The storyline should be enough for you to imagine what happens, and if this were even a little better of an effort I would give more explanation, but this one just is not worth it.

Co-writer Keith Allan also serves as the film’s director, and this being his first full-length directorial effort I can say that his career is headed nowhere – unless he continues to work for The Asylum. To make his horrendously-written dialogue even worse it comes accompanied by equally bad acting performances from every actor involved. Allan’s camerawork is pathetic too, coming off very amateurish and reminding me of home videos I made with my friends during my pre-teen years. So I guess I should at least mention the horror right? Well, much like good writing and good direction, there is not much of that either. The horror we do get is very poorly executed and almost laughable (not in the good way) at times, without a single scare in this 87 minute experience that should be shown to film school students regarding what NOT to do in the film industry.

Overall, 11/11/11 is a pathetic mocking of Darren Lynn Bousman’s 11-11-11 that I suggest you stay away from. Enough said.

Rating: 2/10

  1. January 9, 2012 at 10:19 pm

    Yikes 2/10! Staying away from this disaster.

    • January 10, 2012 at 1:41 pm

      The Asylum makes disaster films…literally.

  2. Trae of the living
    January 13, 2012 at 12:40 pm

    Haha, for getting the wrong one, sorry for not being lucky to actually get a good “wrong” movie. But I didn’t like Bousman’s movie, very dull and uninspired (but his saw movies f**ing rule !!! 2 still is the best, the only epic one, imo)

  3. February 7, 2012 at 3:05 pm

    i saw this movie, thought it was horrible..

    • February 7, 2012 at 9:04 pm

      I won’t dissent to that as I am sure many will think it is horrible, and I can understand why. It isn’t a great flick by any means, but for being a Hollywood film with an A-list star in a PG-13 effort I thought it did well and wasn’t as cliche as expected, plus I just love the story.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

