Home > Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter - 6 > Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter – 6

Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter – 6


Director – Timur Bekmambetov

Cast – Benjamin Walker, Dominic Cooper, Anthony Mackie, Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Rufus Sewell, Marton Csokas, Jimmi Simpson

Release Year – 2012

Reviewed by John of the Dead

I had very little interest in seeing this film and only gave it the shot due to it hitting the local dollar theater in my area. Why the lack of interest? Well, I don’t hate them, but I am not particularly fond of the horrific retellings of history unless they come with elements that peak my interest (the beloved icon really being a sick bastard), and this one came with an element I rarely am interested in…vampires. Had I heard that Honest Abe was really a child eating serial-killer I would have jumped into the film the first chance that I got, but him killing vampires – much like the ladies of Pride and Prejudice killing zombies – eh. Nonetheless this is a horror film so I gave it a go and surprisingly enough found this better than I expected.

At the age of 9, Abraham Lincoln (Benjamin Walker) witnessed the death of his mother as a revenge killing to settle a debt. The killer was not your typical murderer though, the killer…was a vampire. 10 years later and still raging with anger over the sorrow he suffered at the death of his mother, Abraham Lincoln falls under the wing of Henry Sturgess (Dominic Cooper) who teaches him how to fight and kill the undead bloodsuckers he hates so dearly. Decades later, Abraham Lincoln is now the 16th Presidents of the United States and must once again wage war against vampires – vampires that have joined forces with the Confederate Army.

So Abraham Lincoln was nowhere near the sick bastard that I wanted him to be in this film, but he was definitely more “badass” than expected, so I guess that counts for something. Watching him suffer the heartbreaking loss of his mother, whose murder he viewed first-hand, and then vowing revenge on the vampire that killed her (and eventually all vampires) was awesome as I have a supreme loving for anything involving vengeance. His rage fueled him and did not hinder him very much, instead his rage combined with his overall kind and honest soul helped him acquire many friends, the love of his life in Mary Todd (Mary Elizabeth Winstead; The Thing prequel, Final Destination 3, Death Proof, Black Christmas remake), and eventually the White House. Along this journey he is accompanied by several friends, Henry Sturgess and childhood friend Will Johnson, who aid him greatly in slaying the vampire uprising devouring the country that he will not fail to protect. At 105 minutes the film takes its time, giving us about half the runtime involving the younger Lincoln and the second half consisting of President Lincoln and his mission to eliminate the vampires for good. There is much excitement written into the film, and it comes in enjoyable fashion via long action sequences and plenty of dead vampires.

Director Timur Bekmambetov (Night Watch, Day Watch) did a pretty good job with this one, giving us his usual tension-filled action sequences shot in an engaging fashion that allows you to feel like you are there. His atmosphere was positive and the sets used aided the film, and while I originally questioned some of the casting choices each actor portrayed their role well enough for me not to balk in the end. There was some heaving usage of CGI effects at times, which I was not particularly fond of but the scenes were rather chaotic and live-action FX would have been nearly impossible. Bekmambetov is definitely know for his execution of action sequences, and he did very well in executing the action and supplemental horror, with numerous decapitations and lots of blood / vampire guts to go around.

Overall, Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter was not nearly as bad of a film as I expected it to be, and in fact wound up being a borderline-positive experience. This film will not win any awards, nor does it deserve any, but for a action-packed film it was not as brainless as most others it is relative to. This effort was fun at times, and definitely contained lots of vampire-oriented horror, in the end delivering a horrific telling our history books conveniently left out.

Rating: 6/10

  1. August 21, 2012 at 6:51 am

    I went into the film with much the same mindset and was surprised at just how much I enjoyed this. You didn’t mention Jimmi Simpson as Speed and he was, as always, fun and interesting to watch, as was perennial villain Rufus Sewell. And it was the Fourth of July when I saw it, so we sat and felt almost patriotic as we watched. I did come away thinking the movie would not be a big hit with those living in the south… hah

    • August 21, 2012 at 1:32 pm

      Yeah Rufus is always fun to watch in horror, I didn’t mention them mostly because I did not want to prolonge the review, just give enough for you to decide on watching it. Their performances were worth mentioning though, maybe I’ll re-edit. As far as The South goes, that’s why I’m glad I’m from Texas. There’s the North, the South, and then there’s Texas. Haha.

  2. Traeghy (for my friends)
    August 21, 2012 at 2:01 pm

    didn’t see this yet, but saw Abe vS Zombies, and that was kinda (in an Asylum kinda way) great!!!!

  3. August 25, 2012 at 1:00 pm

    I skipped this one in the theatres because I really enjoyed the book (immediately drew me in) and was nervous the film may not do it justice. But will catch it in Redbox or Netflix.

    • August 26, 2012 at 1:51 pm

      Yes I waited for the dollar cinema to give this one a watch. I’d wait for Redbox or Netflix as well.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

